• Latest News & Updates

  • Tain are champions for third year in a row

    Tain Thistle have been crowned Ross-shire Welfare League champions for the third year running after a 5-2 win over neighbours Balintore at the Links tonight. The victory also secured the Graham Jardine Memorial Quaich, which is contested annually in Tain between Thistle and Balintore in their league fixture.

    Nerves were put to bed after half an hour when Roy Smillie battered a knock on into the net at the far post. Shortly after, top scorer Darran Goller netted his 28th of the season to make it 2-0. Balintore reduced the deficit soon after the restart, but an own goal at the other end from a Liam Rostock corner immediately restored Thistle's advantage. It was 4-1 thanks to a neat Gordy Mackay finish, before Balintore once again reduced the leeway. A penalty award saw Thistle wrap up the points and the win five minutes from time, which Gordy Mackay cooly slotted away.

    The win sends Tain Thistle five points clear of Alness United in an unsurmountable position with all 10 games played. 

    Team - J Allan, A Durrand, A Duff, D Mackay, C Mackintosh, D Christie, G Mackay, L Rostock (G Noble), R Smillie (A Mackintosh), D Goller, B Cameron

  • Latest News | Tain Thistle AFC
  • Jags win third Seaboard Cup

    Tony Farquhar's resurgent Jags continued their fantastic run this season by winning the Seaboard Cup for the third year in a row yesterday thanks to a 4-2 win over Invergordon Social Club at Balintore.

    Liam Rostock opened the scoring on twenty minutes to take his season tally to eight before the Tain men went 2-0 up thanks to an own goal. It looked as though it may be plain sailing for Thistle, but a David Chivas goal reduced the scoreline to 2-1 at half time.

    Cammy Bell eventually levelled the scores after a period of Social pressure ten minutes after the restart and it looked as though the match could go either way. But midway through the second half, substitute Graham Noble grabbed the game by the scruff of the neck and powered Thistle back into the lead with a stunning strike from 25 yards, collecting the ball and rifling a right foot shot beyond the keeper. Thistle firmly in control, an own goal five minutes from time secured the victory.

    Post match, the trophy was presented to the winners by Gordy Lowe, Balintore.

    Team - J Allan, A Durrand, D Mackay, A Duff, C Mailley, P Cowie (G Noble), C Mackintosh, G Mackay, L Rostock, R Smillie (A Mackintosh), A MacDonald
    Unused sub - T Farquhar

  • Latest News | Tain Thistle AFC
  • Thistle secure second Coronation Cup

    Tain Thistle won the Coronation Cup on Saturday for the second time in their history, thanks to a 3-0 win over Fortrose Union at Jubilee Park in Dingwall.

    They first secured the Dingwall trophy in 2013 under manager Gary Ross, when a single Chippie Mailley strike from distance helped them to a 1-0 win in Maryburgh, also against Fortrose. This time around, Chippie Mailley was also the man of the match - but the score was much more decisive.

    Liam Rostock opened the scoring from close range from a Chippie Mailley corner after just thirteen minutes to calm the nerves and it ended 1-0 at half time. Ten minutes into the second period, Adam MacDonald doubled the scoreline with a shot in off the post before the league's top marksman Darran Goller wrapped up the win with a goal from six yards after steady pressure from the Thistle front line.

    The victory secured Thistle's second cup of the season making it 2 out of 3 for new gaffer Tony Farquhar, who has done a fine job of leading the Jags during 2017, and hopefully many more years to come.

  • Latest News | Tain Thistle AFC
    Content Management Powered by CuteNews