The Official Website

Pattison Cup returns to Tain (Tain Thistle Football Club)

Pattison Cup returns to Tain

The Jags made history with a fourth cup win on Saturday, to take their haul to five trophies in what has been their most successful season in their 21 year history.

Manager Tony Farquhar named a sixteen man squad for the cup final against close rivals Alness United, who fielded an experienced eleven which included a handful of former Thistle players.

Following a close twenty minutes, the game was kicked into life when former Jag Dave Murray was dismissed for preventing a goal scoring opportunity. Within ten minutes, Liam Rostock connected with a superb Chippie Mailley through ball to make it 1-0. The goals then began to flood in and two quick strikes from Darran Goller and a penalty from Liam Rostock made it 4-0 by the hour mark.

Goller double his contribution with two goals late on, as he hit a milestone by notching his 100th and 101th for the club. A late looping effort from Alan Duff made it 7-0 as the Jags ran out clear winners.

Post-match, the trophy was awarded to captain Daniel Christie at the Railway Hotel, who also collected a bottle of Glenmorangie malt whisky in recognition of reaching 200 appearances for the club.

Article written on 08 Aug 2017 | Link to article

Content Management Powered by CuteNews

Our Next Game

Ross-shire Welfare League

Team Pld GD Pts
Tain Thistle 10 40 27
Alness United 9 29 22
Fortrose Union 10 -4 13
Balintore 9 -4 10
Invergordon SC 10 -14 10
Eastern Rose 10 -47 3

Thank you to

Designed by League Pro Stats / Tain Digital