The Official Website

Jags win third Seaboard Cup (Tain Thistle Football Club)

Jags win third Seaboard Cup

Tony Farquhar's resurgent Jags continued their fantastic run this season by winning the Seaboard Cup for the third year in a row yesterday thanks to a 4-2 win over Invergordon Social Club at Balintore.

Liam Rostock opened the scoring on twenty minutes to take his season tally to eight before the Tain men went 2-0 up thanks to an own goal. It looked as though it may be plain sailing for Thistle, but a David Chivas goal reduced the scoreline to 2-1 at half time.

Cammy Bell eventually levelled the scores after a period of Social pressure ten minutes after the restart and it looked as though the match could go either way. But midway through the second half, substitute Graham Noble grabbed the game by the scruff of the neck and powered Thistle back into the lead with a stunning strike from 25 yards, collecting the ball and rifling a right foot shot beyond the keeper. Thistle firmly in control, an own goal five minutes from time secured the victory.

Post match, the trophy was presented to the winners by Gordy Lowe, Balintore.

Team - J Allan, A Durrand, D Mackay, A Duff, C Mailley, P Cowie (G Noble), C Mackintosh, G Mackay, L Rostock, R Smillie (A Mackintosh), A MacDonald
Unused sub - T Farquhar

Article written on 23 Jul 2017 | Link to article

Content Management Powered by CuteNews

Our Next Game

Ross-shire Welfare League

Team Pld GD Pts
Tain Thistle 10 40 27
Alness United 9 29 22
Fortrose Union 10 -4 13
Balintore 9 -4 10
Invergordon SC 10 -14 10
Eastern Rose 10 -47 3

Thank you to

Designed by League Pro Stats / Tain Digital